Accounting firm acquirers we could document (2026-09)
| Acquirer | Owner / sponsor | HQ | Focus | Footprint (as stated) | Latest dated event (source) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Grant Thornton Advisors | New Mountain Capital (closed May 2024); CDPQ and OA Private Capital minority | Not stated | Advisory and tax; attest via Grant Thornton LLP | National firm | May 31, 2024: investment closed; alternative practice structure |
Baker Tilly | Hellman & Friedman and Valeas Capital Partners (2024) | Not stated | Advisory, tax; attest via Baker Tilly US, LLP | Combined with Moss Adams (announced 2025) | |
Citrin Cooperman | Blackstone (majority stake acquired from New Mountain, Jan 2025) | Not stated | Accounting, tax, advisory | National firm | |
Aprio | Charlesbank Capital Partners (Jul 2024) | Not stated | Accounting, tax, advisory | National firm | |
EisnerAmper | TowerBrook Capital Partners (since 2021; continuation vehicle 2026) | Not stated | Accounting, tax, advisory | National firm | Mar 2026: continuation vehicle with Carlyle AlpInvest and Hamilton Lane joining |
Ascend | Alpine Investors | Not stated | Platform for regional CPA firms (non-attest business) | Targets firms with $10M-$50M revenue |
Read this before you answer a letter
Under the Uniform Accountancy Act model, CPAs must hold a majority of a CPA firm’s ownership, so these deals split the attest firm from the advisory business. A small firm is more likely to sell to a platform’s member firm than to the platform directly.
Platform vs add-on: what it means for price
A platform is the first company a PE firm buys in a trade or region; it is usually larger, keeps its management and is priced at a higher multiple. An add-on is a smaller company bolted onto that platform, typically at a lower multiple, because the buyer is paying for your customers, technicians and location rather than a management team.
Published ranges for accounting firms:
| Deal type / size | Multiple | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Larger deals | No reliable published range | - |
If one of these groups contacts you
- Do not reply with numbers yet
Run your own range first with the accounting firm calculator.
- Ask what kind of deal it is
Platform or add-on? How much cash at close, how much rollover equity or earn-out, and what role they expect you to play for how long.
- Check who owns the buyer
The sponsor and when it invested tell you how soon the buyer itself may be sold, which matters if you roll over equity.
- Talk to more than one buyer
A single-bidder process rarely gets the top of the range. Use our unsolicited offer guide and checklist.
Got a PE letter? Get our offer-review checklist
Twelve questions to ask before you sign anything, including the rollover and earn-out terms that change what you actually take home.
Buying accounting firm businesses? Register your interest
Get notified when we publish new data on off-market accounting firm businesses and acquirers. We do not list businesses for sale, and we cannot promise that any will become available to you.
Spotted an error or an out-of-date sponsor? Send a correction and we will review it against the primary source. Company names are used only to identify them; we are not affiliated with any acquirer listed.
Frequently asked questions
Who is buying accounting firm businesses?
We documented 6 active acquirers from primary sources, including Grant Thornton Advisors, Baker Tilly, Citrin Cooperman. The table lists each one’s owner, footprint and latest dated announcement.
Do PE-backed buyers pay more?
For larger companies, usually yes on headline multiple, but more of the price may come as rollover equity or earn-out. Compare cash at close and your required role, not only the multiple.
Can you introduce me to these buyers?
No. We are not a broker, we do not make introductions and we take no fees from buyers or sellers. See not a broker.
Sources
- Grant Thornton Advisors - primary source (accessed 2026-09-23)
- Baker Tilly - primary source (accessed 2026-09-23)
- Citrin Cooperman - primary source (accessed 2026-09-23)
- Aprio - primary source (accessed 2026-09-23)
- EisnerAmper - primary source (accessed 2026-09-23)
- Ascend - primary source (accessed 2026-09-23)